Things to Do in Hatteras: Town Information

Hatteras Island is made up of seven villages. From north to south they are Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras. None of the villages are incorporated towns; rather, they are under the jurisdiction of Dare County. Each of the villages has its own unique character, and locals and visitors tend to have a favorite village to which they are fiercely loyal. Read about each of the villages below, then go out and explore the things to do in Hatteras villages on your own. You’ll know immediately which is your favorite Hatteras Island village.